The Writer’s Bookshelf: Recommended References and Writing Resources (Episode 22: Discussing “This Is Not a Writing Manual” by Kerri Majors)

Title Image for The Writer’s Bookshelf Episode 22

Aw, you came back! Excellent. Welcome to The Writer’s Bookshelf. Again!

This week’s book takes us into the mind of an author who wants to tell us about the writing life like it is. This is the reality check for anyone who dreams of writing for a living. Is it glamorous? Maybe. Is it profitable? Maybe! Is it rewarding on any level, intellectual or otherwise? Pending. Is it for those who think they can cut it without learning a thing? There’s only one way to find out.

This book of essays addresses some of these topics (and many others) while helping the aspiring author decide whether writing is a business he or she should aspire to (and why). In the tradition of Stephen King’s On Writing and Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird, Kerri Majors’s message to new writers in This Is Not a Writing Manual is simple: Learn what you’re getting yourself into before you jump in. Then jump in.

And why wait? Check it out now, if you’d like. Here’s the video that hypes it up! And here are the other vitals:

This Is Not a Writing Manual: Notes for the Young Writer in the Real World

by Kerri Majors

Website

Amazon Metadata:

·  Paperback: 208 pages

·  ISBN-10: 9781599636887

·  ISBN-13: 978-1599636887

·  Publisher: Kerri Majors (July 9, 2013)

Check out other entries in the Writer’s Bookshelf series here.

Don’t forget to like, subscribe, comment, and do all of the things that convince me you like this kind of information and want more like it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s