Friday Update #1: Teenage American Dream

It’s Friday, so I want to post a quick story progress update.

At some point I want to talk about Superheroes Anonymous: A Modern-day Fantasy, Year Two, as I released it three weeks ago, and discuss its performance, and discuss how it affects my future books. Maybe next Friday.

But this week I want to kick off the Friday update series with some news about Teenage American Dream, my next scheduled novel release.

I had originally planned to release it on April 30th, as that’s a great time for high school stories (some of my favorite high school movies were released in April of their respective years), but continuous swelling of previous works had cut into my time for finishing it, so I reset the release date for June 30th, thinking two months would be plenty of time to get it finished and polished.

But here we are just 13 days out, and I’m still not finished.

Here’s the thing: I want to get this right. I don’t want to produce something that I think is right. I want to get it right. And though I probably won’t go through a marketing campaign for this one (more on that in an upcoming blog), I still want the small few who find it on day one to have the satisfaction of knowing that they’ve discovered a true gem, should they take a chance on reading it.

So, I want to get this one right.

This means four things:

  1. I’ve reset the release date again, this time to August 25, 2016.
  2. Getting it right means this new date is arbitrary. I’ll release it when I deem it ready. But late August seems feasible.
  3. The books to follow it, Sweat of the Nomad and Zipwood Studios, will also likely get pushed back, quite possibly into 2017.
  4. Pushing the date back means I’m more likely to release a perfect version on the first upload, and not just on Smashwords, but Amazon, too, and it means I may have the paperback version ready with it, as well, so it’ll be a win for all readers.

But, don’t fret. You can still read the sample chapters if you’re itching to get an early taste. Keep in mind that they haven’t yet been revised to their final drafts, and the first chapter also contains the prologue, which jars the opening transition. However, these will be sorted out in time.

Thanks for your patience if you’ve been waiting for it. I am working on it, slowly but surely. I’m still on the third act (out of four), and have been for a while, but progress is progress. The slowdown at this point is making sure I don’t keep repeating the same types of scenes. I feel like I am, and that’s lame, and I’m trying to think of ways to keep the story fresh.

I’ll get there.

Next week, I hope to post an update on Superheroes Anonymous and the future of A Modern-day Fantasy Annual Edition.

Please keep checking this blog for new updates, writing tips, and other fun things.

Leave a Reply

