March Update

March 11, 2016:

It’s Friday, the last day of my vacation, and my attempt to break in my new debit card after discovering some fraudulent charges on my previous one (that I had for less than a month), which resulted in me having to shut myself out of my own checking account for a week (conveniently at the start of my vacation), has been interrupted by what sounds like another expensive car repair bill. So, needless to say, my plans have changed yet again, so I figure while I’m essentially immobilized, I may as well drop some news for March.

For starters, my short story collection, Zippywings 2015, was released as an ebook to Smashwords and its affiliates last month for $3.99. Even though each story can be downloaded individually for free on those sites, I set the price tag to reflect its true value, and to give those who’d rather pay for my efforts a chance to do so.

As of this week, you can also find it on Amazon. Same price, but the difference here is that the individual stories cost $.99 each (the minimum that Amazon allows), so you’re getting all the stories for half the cost there.

The advantage of going through Amazon is that if you buy the paperback version, you can get the ebook version for free. Something to consider if you enjoy reading things in multiple platforms. But you should get it. It comes with seven stories of fun, adventure, crises, quirkiness, and so forth (short, novelette, and novellas), one mini-collection of three Christmas fables, multiple excerpts from my upcoming titles, and the short story version of “The Computer Nerd.” Note: The bonus short story applies to the ebook only. Not featured in the print version.

zippywings 2015 title 2
Cover Image for “Zippywings 2015”

I’ve also released Gutter Child and The Fallen Footwear on Amazon this week. Both retail for $.99 (The Fallen Footwear is a free title at Smashwords, Apple, Barnes & Noble, etc.), and both are worth your time. Gutter Child is a 13-chapter novella that runs at just over 32,000 words, or the equivalent of 128 pages. The Fallen Footwear is an 8-chapter novelette about 19,000 words, or the equivalent of 76 pages. Both have quirky elements grounded in serious themes about families and relationships. I’m proud about how they both turned out, especially when you consider what they were 17 years ago in their first drafts.

gutter child cover alt 4
Cover Image for “Gutter Child”
fallen footwear cover 1b
Cover Image for “The Fallen Footwear”

Finally, this week I jumped the gun a bit early, but I released the last of my smaller free works, Waterfall Junction and The Narrow Bridge, prior to the incoming tide of larger priced titles that I have for the rest of 2016. I had planned to release it on March 25th, for Good Friday and the Easter weekend, but realized I’d rather have it available at all the retailers by then, which wouldn’t happen until the following week, so I figured that because it was ready, and it would be just as available on Good Friday if I released now as it would be if I released then, I went ahead and dropped it this week. It’s two short stories about faith and redemption, set in a fantastical world, and filled with adventure. Neither story takes long to read, and both will inspire you. Hopefully. It can be found at all of the retailers, including Amazon.

waterfall junction cover 2c
Cover Image for “Waterfall Junction and The Narrow Bridge”

Finally, with all of these other titles done and out the door, I’m back to work on Teenage American Dream, with a first act finished and a second act partially finished yet fully charted. It’ll be a race to finish it on time, I admit, and I’m beginning to worry about the deadlines I’ve set for myself. Unfortunately, Cards in the Cloak and Gutter Child required a much heftier rewrite than I had anticipated when I began readying them for ebooks, so they both ate into the two months I thought I’d be spending catching up on my 2016 novels. But I still see the April 30th release date as feasible, as I wrote The Computer Nerd in an even shorter time span, and this story isn’t any harder.

However, I have a feeling I’ll be pushing Sweat of the Nomad back to the end of July and Zipwood Studios to the end of October to account for the extra time I needed on Cards in the Cloak and Gutter Child. Stay tuned for those updates. I won’t actively make a decision to move the dates until I have a better idea what kind of timeline I’m working with. But I’m expecting the possibility.

Superheroes Anonymous: A Modern-day Fantasy, Year Two won’t be affected. That story has been finished for years. I just need to spot edit a few things and make sure all the pieces fit where they belong to account for the changes made in the first book. So, unless something ridiculous happens, that’s still scheduled for release on May 27th. And if you’re debating on whether to get your copy, let me just say that it’s made of the same quality as Cannonball City: A Modern-day Fantasy, Year One, and as of this writing, that one is a five-star book at Barnes & Noble. Just saying.

So, there’s your March update. Please consider buying, reading, and reviewing any of these books. I have a big car repair bill coming this weekend and no great way to pay for it. Supporting my books helps me! Thanks. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

