New Site Content

October 18, 2015

Just a quick note to new and returning readers, I’ve recently updated Drinking Cafe Latte at 1pm‘s upper toolbar with hotlinks to important pages. For the longest time, I’ve wanted to do this, but I wasn’t quite sure how. This week, I’ve finally figured out how to make this place look a little more professional, so I’ve spent a couple of nights updating various background locations.

Here’s a quick guide on what each new menu selection offers:

About: This was always up there, but it was generic and reflective of the blog’s early intention. I’ve since updated it to highlight my new vision for Drinking Cafe Latte at 1pm, as well as to offer some information about me personally. If nothing else, you can click on it to see what I look like. Sorry, if you were expecting George Clooney.

Contact: If you need to get a hold of me for any reason–you want to interview, guest post, get a free e-book, etc.–here’s how to reach me.

Policies: This is mainly about my books, present and future, and explains my policies on pricing, giveaways, publishing, cover art, etc. Read this if you want to know the nitty-gritty on why I make the decisions I do. I’m open to criticism if you think you have a better plan than what I present.

My Books: This is where you can quick-access my books’ pages for content information and links to their respective shops, reviews, and other relevant content. In the near future, you’ll also be able to access chapter samples from here. Note that every available book can also be accessed from the cover photos down the right margin of the page, or in the hotlinks on the left side (though, those are much harder to find).

Future Books: A direct link to the page dedicated to my upcoming books. This is updated periodically, so it’s worth checking out from time to time. Also provides links to previously released books.

So, that’s a brief overview of the new menus. I’ll create another post like this if I add anything new or make changes to an existing page down the road. I realize that after spending a year and a half on WordPress I should already know how to do this, but I take a little longer to learn how to do Web-related things than others do. The important thing is that I’ve learned it, and that’s what makes us stronger.

Oh, and I just recently finished reading a great book on blogs if you’re new and clueless on how to make yours work according to your needs an interests. Look up Blogging for Writers by Robin Houghton, or visit her site at http://bloggingforwriters.info/ if you want some tips on how to make yours bigger and better (or smaller and better, if that’s your goal). It’s a couple of years old now, but still good in my opinion. I learned a lot more from it than I ever did from doing this on my own. Definitely recommended if you have a blog and you feel like you’re drowning in it, and no one’s coming to help you swim, or to read it.

Leave a Reply

